Discipline

I’ve been struggling big time with getting back into writing. I have a ton of ideas but my focus lately has been queries. I’m determined to see my book published but unfortunately there just aren’t enough hours in the day. If we lived on Mars we’d possibly have a few more hours to work with. However, leaving this planet doesn’t seem to be an option for the moment. Instead, I’ll have to continue to carve out time during the 24 hours here on Earth.

I’m not suffering from lack of creativity. Just following through seems to be the hard part. I know I need to fall back in line with discipline. I’ve been lazy. I’ve watched more TV over the last week or two and read less. I supposed it’s a funk, but I now that I recognize it maybe it’ll be just what I need kickstart a run.

I have a short story in rough draft form than could use editing. I also need to jot the ideas bouncing around in my head before they’re replaced by a grocery list or what time to pick up my son.

Life has a lot do with it. I’m spent. Working a full day. Dinner, dishes, cleaning up, etc. Time with my wife. It’s all good! I love it! But it does take me away from writing. This is a challenge all writers have. This is where committment comes into play and as well as discipline. Oh, and hard work too.

This is just a venting post. I don’t know that I accomplished much other than realizing the words I’m typing would’ve gone towards a short story! Airing this out helps. Writing’s a grind; that’s no secret. I guess part of me forgot that but I’m willing and ready to go at it again.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

