PubIt!

I’m unsure of when the technology was actually launched but PubIt! looks like its making a splash onto the scene this week. It’s a free site that allows authors to publish pretty much anything. Primarily targeted for e-books, authors can also upload essays, short stories, etc. The site is run by Barnes and Noble and looks pretty slick. I believe this is not the first site to do this but certainly the first big book seller to embrace the era of self-publishing.

I’ve toyed with the idea of self-publishing, but I can’t pull the trigger on that one. I still like the idea of an agent accepting my work and then trying to sell it to a publishing house. However, I do believe in e-books; they are the future for publishing. I have to think the overhead on an e-book is next to nothing compared to traditional print. The catch is how many Nooks or iPads can be sold to support this platform? I haven’t purchased one and it’s not that I’m resisting – I can’t afford one right now! It’s on my wish list for sure.

As an emerging writer I’m excited about this digital platform. I believe this will open up the publishing world for folks like me. Today’s print platform is so hard to break into because of the contraction of the market. There are so few players that they have the option to be stingy on what gets printed. I give this digital revolution another eighteen months to really ramp up. The price of e-readers will come down as competition heats up and prices come down.

It’s an exciting time to be a writer! Platforms like PubIt! will only further the change going on in the publishing industry and making it more promising for writers to emerge.

1 Comment

  1. I’d like to add the german pioneer XinXii as another online self-publishing platform: http://www.xinxii.com They went international theses days, so the marketplace is accessible worldwide.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

